top of page

Thu, 27 Apr


University of Sydney Law School Foyer

Launch of the Evatt Journal - 90 Seconds to Midnight

Join the Evatt Foundation and special guests Hon Peter Garrett, Hon Robert Tickner, Sharan Burrow AC, Emeritus Professor Stuart Rees and Gem Romuld, for a panel discussion on nuclear disarmament and foreign policy.

Registration is closed
See other events
Launch of the Evatt Journal - 90 Seconds to Midnight
Launch of the Evatt Journal - 90 Seconds to Midnight

Time & Location

27 Apr 2023, 6:00 pm AEST

University of Sydney Law School Foyer, 3 Law School, New Law Building, Eastern Ave, Camperdown NSW 2006, Australia

About the Event

You are warmly invited to join the Evatt Foundation as we launch the latest Evatt Journal - 90 Seconds to Midnight. 

This edition of the Journal examines how Australia can play a regional and international leadership role in advancing nuclear non-proliferation, nuclear disarmament, peace and stability.

With the Doomsday Clock the closest it has ever been to midnight (90 seconds), this discussion is more important than ever before.

The Journal includes contributions from former Minister for Foreign Affairs, Hon Gareth Evans AC KC, Hawke-Keating Government Minister, Hon Robert Tickner AO, Susan Templeman MP, former Assistant Secretary General of the UN, Emeritus Professor Ramesh Thakur, founder of the Sydney Peace Foundation, Emeritus Professor Stuart Rees, leading US Scientist Steven Starr, the Red Cross, the World Council of Churches and more. 

Special guest, Hon Peter Garrett, will be joining us to launch the Journal. Peter is a renowned activist, former Minister for the Environment, former Minister for Education, member of the Order of Australia and the lead singer of Midnight Oil.

We will then host a panel discussing the role Australia can play in regional and internatinal nuclear disarmamament and peace, with special guests:

  • The Hon Robert Tickner AO, former Minister for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Affairs in the Hawke-Keating Government 
  • Sharan Burrow AC, former General Secretary of the International Trade Union Confederation (ITUC) and former President of the Australian Council of Trade Unions (ACTU)
  • Emeritus Professor Stuart Rees, founder of the Sydney Peace Foundation
  • Gem Romuld, Director of the International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons, Australia (ICAN)

Hard copies of the Journal will be available for purchase on the evening.  

Share This Event

bottom of page